Recipe: Pumpkin soup

There’s something very comforting about a hot soup.  I associate soup with a cold winter’s day or with being tucked into bed with a runny nose.  As a child whenever I was sick, my Nana would bring over a hot steaming billy of chunky, mixed vegetable soup.  And there was nothing better than a chunk of rustic, toasted bread to mop up with.

This pumpkin soup is taken from quite a few recipes, recipes which I didn’t have all the ingredients for the complete recipe so I took what I had a made a mix up soup.  Here’s my version of Pumpkin soup using what I have in my fridge/cupboard:

1 Pumpkin, peeled and chopped

2 or 3 carrots, chopped roughly

1 tomato, chopped

1 red onion

A dash of olive oil

Mixed herbs of your choice (I like rosemary)

2-3 cups of vegetable stock (I use the powdered kind which is then dissolved in hot water)

Firstly, chop the red onion, finely.  Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan.  Sautee the onion, then add the chopped pumpkin, carrot and tomato.  Sautee the vegetables until they get slightly brown, the onion should caramelize a little.   Add the vegetable stock and let boil and reduce down until the vegetables are cooked through.  Once the vegetables are cooked through, remove from heat and with a stick blender, blend until smooth.  If a little thick, add some more stock.

Leave a Reply

