A Carrie Column: Do women just want to be rescued?

In episode 1 of season 3, after the four attend a fireman calendar competition, they ponder why men in uniform are so attractive and Charlotte blurts out the reason is simply because women just want to be rescued…..

This is a tricky one.  I personally think it goes hand in hand with the chivalry issue.  Now, me, I personally love chivalry.  I don’t expect it but it’s always a nice little surprise when a guy opens the door for me.  It makes my whole day.  Once when I was in high school some sweet boy held the door open for me and I wondered what the hell he was doing.  My dad explained over dinner that the boy was being nice, he was being a gentlemen.  I, at the time, said I was more than capable of holding my own door open.  Then, the next day a different boy slammed the door in my face.  I suddenly realised which I prefered.  

I think we’ve scared men so much with the ‘we women, we can do’ attitude that the poor little mites are confused as to what the hell it is they’re supposed to do.  But then, I also believe that we’re a little confused ourselves.  At least I am. 

I was raised to believe I could be or do anything I wanted, I could do anything my brother or any other boy could do.  I was taught never to say things such as ‘I can’t do that, I’m a girl.’  At the same time though I was read fairytales (my favourite was Cinderella) and plopped in front of many a Disney movie where the fair maiden (usually a Princess) was in some kind of distress and the Charming Prince or Knight in Shining Armour would swoop in, defeat whatever evil there was, rescue the girl and inevitably get the girl.  Talk about mixed childhood messages.

So, how do we reconcile the two messages?  I have no idea.  I do think though, to a certain extent we all want to be rescued in that fairytale way – we just can’t or won’t admit it. 

The War Propaganda poster was found on Google Images and does not belong to me in any way shape or form.

One thought on “A Carrie Column: Do women just want to be rescued?

Leave a Reply

