Favourite Julia Roberts Movies

Favourite Julia Roberts Movies
 

Julia Roberts is one of my all time favourite actresses.  To me, she is like this generation’s Audrey Hepburn.   As a teenager, my dad and I would have a movie night every Saturday.  Just him and me curled up on the couch.  We’d go to the DVD shop and each pick a movie.  Inevitably one of us would pick an old movie from the 50s or 60s and the other would pick a Julia Roberts film.  So, here’s a round up of my (and Dad’s) favourite Julia Roberts movies:

Pretty Woman:  The first Julia Roberts film I ever saw.  At the time I wasn’t quite sure what a prostitute was (I was about 11 or 12) but I knew enough that it wasn’t something good.  But Julia made it look kind of fun to be whisked away by a rich business man.  Definitely a Cinderella story – except Cinderella was damn spunky and didn’t really want to be rescued.

Notting Hill: I saw this film in the Cinema with my then boyfriend who thought this was not going to be a movie for watching but rather for fooling around in the darkened theatre.  He was highly disappointed.  For the whole film I was enrapture, not by my boyfriend’s not so subtle seduction techniques, but by the chemistry between Julia and Hugh Grant.  It was also the film in which I developed a bit of a crush on good old Hugh.  Plus it has the most romantic line:  “I’m just a girl standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.”

Erin Brockovich:Ah, Erin Brockovich.  I love, love, loved Julia in this role.  She kicked ass.  She was spunky in the same way she was in Pretty Woman and what added to it as that this was a true, inspirational story. 

Best quote ever:

Kurt Potter: Wha... how did you do this?
Erin Brockovich: Well, um, seeing as how I have no brains or legal
  expertise, and Ed here was losing all faith in the system, am I
  right?
Ed Masry: Oh, yeah, completely. No faith, no faith...
Erin Brockovich: I just went out there and performed sexual favors.
  Six hundred and thirty-four blow jobs in five days... Im really
  quite tired.


Leave a Reply

