Book Review: The Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Title: The Clockwork Angel

Tessa Gray is a young girl making the voyage to join her brother in Victorian England.  When she steps off the ship, her brother is nowhere to be seen, in his place are the Dark sisters who hold Tessa hostage and force her to use a power she never knew she had:  the power to change into any person she desired.   The Dark Sisters have promised Tessa to the Magister – what he wants with her is somewhat of a mystery. 

Coming to her rescue is Will, a shadowhunter, who takes her back to the Shadowhunters London Institute where she fears she is once more a prisoner.  Suddenly Tessa is being told that Vampires and Demons truly do exist and that she may not be entirely human herself.  The Shadowhunters swear they mean her no harm and promise to help her hone her ability and find her brother and soon it’s not them she is worried about.  It’s the threat of love.  Caught between Will and his best friend James, Tessa is fascinated by them both.

I’m going to just come out and admit it:  I’ve read this book probably ten times, I’m completely obsessed with it and can’t wait for it’s sequal to come out.  Every time I re-read it there’s something else I pick up on that I didn’t before or something which confused me before becomes clear.  I can’t wait to find out what secrets Will is keeping – and, if I’m honest I have a bit of a crush on him – I can’t help it, I’ve always had a thing for the slightly dangerous and completely mysterious ones, even the fictional ones.

Leave a Reply

