Cooking with Tania (or another way to procrastinate)

Today I was just for some reason in the mood to bake.  I’m a nanny for a little girl and boy because well being a writer (an unpublished one) doesn’t exactly bring the dough in.  A lot of the writing I do is contributing stuff to build up my porfolio.  Anyway, I really should be writing (I’m writing an article for esvie a lifestyle online magazine, go check it out it’s awesome) but I figure because the recipes I’m using came from a writer’s website that kind of makes it count.  Research, maybe? 

So, the recipes I made are chocolate chip cookies which I love to try making different recipes and different variations and because I think that making them yourself is so much better than the ones bought from the store.  And chocolate brownies which I have never ever made before but they turned out really good.

Cookies!

2 cups flour (I used self-raising)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted (that’s 170 grams – or so google tells me)

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar
1 tbs vanilla (I’m a bit of a vanilla whore so I always use more)
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups semi-sweet chips
Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Grease a cookie sheet. Stir together flour, baking soda, and salt. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars. Beat in vanilla and eggs until light and creamy. Mix in flour until just blended. Stir in chocolate chips Use a 1/3 measuring cup to scoop dough onto the cookie sheet, 3″ apart. Bake for 15-18 minutes, until they’re golden brown around the edges. They will get firmer as they set up because of the high butter content.

Brownies:

1/4 cup butter, melted (about 56 grams)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cup white sugar
1 tbs vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips
3/4 cup flour

Preheat oven to 180. Grease 8 x 8″ baking dish. Combine everything but flour, cocoa, and salt, stir. Throw in everything else but the chips. Add the chips. Stir. Bake 30 minutes.

Gotta give credit where credit is due:  I got these recipes from Maggie Stievfater’s blog.  Maggie is the author of the incredible Wolves of Mercy Falls series.

Leave a Reply

