Book Review: Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #2)Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m going to up front and admit something right now: I read the whole trilogy in about three days. I loved it.

Linger is the second book in the trilogy and Sam is fully cured of being a wolf but it seems Grace may be in the process of becoming one. There’s a whole role reversal in their relationship. It seems Sam is constantly trying to keep a hold of Grace, she’s always just within his reach but something happens to pull her away. But it’s not just Grace’s wolf genes lurking in the background it’s also Grace’s parents who have now decided to act like parents and poor Sam is on the outs.

Sam is one of those characters which I personally can’t help but love: he’s quirky, unsure of himself or rather unsure of what would attract Grace to him, talented, sensitive and damaged. In a nutshell he’s the nice, damaged guy I’d like to save. But he’s not the type of guy I’d actually go for in reality which leads me to Cole.

Cole is the bad boy. Rock star, kind of druggie, suicidal (he needs saving too) and kind of an arrogant arse. But oh so attractive. He’s the kind of guy your mother warned you about. He’ll chew you up and spit you out. But you can’t stay away from him. (At least Isabel can’t)

The character whose growth I like most would probably be Isabel – she want from hating the wolves because of what happened to her brother to wanting to help them in her own way. She’s brutally honest.

The best thing about this book and the other books in the series is the writing. The characters come to life for me and find myself rooting for them – I care about them and it’s the little details in the writing which makes them human rather than just characters.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

