Review: Nineteen Minutes – Jodi Picoult

Nineteen MinutesNineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

All of Jodi Picoult’s books touch me in some way but this one made me cry. A lot.

I picked it up not sure to expect. Actually, I sort of did. Like most people when it comes to a student bringing a gun into a school and shooting up the place I felt the student would be guilty and beyond redemption. But like all of Picoult’s books she portrays it from the other angle.

Peter has been bullied his whole life – literally his whole life – and it’s not just regular name calling it is full on bullying. Until one day he just snaps. It’s clear from the off set that he’s guilty as hell – he did it. He brought a gun into school and started shooting but it’s not a random act of violence it was a desperate act of someone who just couldn’t take it anymore. The one thing I kept thinking over and over once the book was finished was: I wish the bullies of the world would read this book and realize how far it could go.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

