On my wishlist

Originally hosted by Book Chick City and now hosted by Cosy Up Book and is where show off the books which we are coveting at the moment.

 

  Today I moved to a twelve-acre rock covered with cement, topped with bird turd and surrounded by water. I’m not the only kid who lives here. There’s my sister, Natalie, except she doesn’t count. And there are twenty-three other kids who live on the island because their dads work as guards or cook’s or doctors or electricians for the prison, like my dad does. Plus, there are a ton of murderers, rapists, hit men, con men, stickup men, embezzlers, connivers, burglars, kidnappers and maybe even an innocent man or two, though I doubt it. The convicts we have are the kind other prisons don’t want. I never knew prisons could be picky, but I guess they can. You get to Alcatraz by being the worst of the worst. Unless you’re me. I came here because my mother said I had to.  – Goodreads summary.

I love Alcatraz, I have a strange fascination with it.  I have in fact been to Alcatraz and it is the creepiest place ever.  There’s just such a bad vibe in that place but I would love to read a book about the families who lived on the island – I personally wouldn’t have wanted to but it sounds interesting.

 

 

 

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands.  – Goodreads summary.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

