Travel Tuesday: Leeds Castle

traveltuesdayicon

 

I love to travel, it has to be one of my all time favourite things.  Discovering new places with rich history, learning about new cultures and walking around buildings which have withstood the ravages of time and imagining what life must have been like for those who lived in them, I personally can’t think of anything more exciting.  So, I’m introducing a new feature to my blog showcasing the places I have been both recently and in the past.

leedscastle

 

To kick off my first travel post is my visit to Leeds Castle – which in case you didn’t know is not actually in Leeds.  Leeds Castle, which looks like the quintessential fairytale castle is actually situated in Kent (in the United Kingdom) and sits amongst 500 acres comprised of parkland and formal gardens.  The castle, which was during the reign of William the Conqueror’s son, was a royal residence for 300 years before it became a private residence.    The castle was used by Henry VIII and his first wife Katherine of Aragon.    The castle’s rich history can be seen in it’s architecture which has influence from medieval times, to Tudor times to the early 1900s to the 1930s.

All photography is copyright Tania Maree, please contact me if you wish to use it.

Leave a Reply

